top of page

Heartbreak

"He heals the brokenhearted and bandages their wounds. He counts the stars and assigns each a name. Our Lord is great; with limitless strength. We'll never comprehend what he knows and does. God puts the fallen on their feet again."

-Psalm 147:2-6

I don't think there is a single person that won't or hasn't already experienced heartbreak. It comes in different ways and the worst part is, is that heartbreak is usually always unexpected. It's not something you can just prepare yourself for. You don't just wake up deciding that you want to feel this awful pain in your chest that can't be eased easily.

I've been thinking a lot about this subject. Throughout my almost 20 years of life, I've had a tremendous amount of heartbreak and I will admit, it never gets easier. But that doesn't mean that life can't get better.

A broken heart, I think, is one of the worst feelings to ever be felt. It's like a chunk of your heart has shattered into a million pieces and for me, my heart has been broken so many times I used to be afraid the pieces were too broken to be put back together.

I will say though, with everything I have gone through, I'm proud to say that I've become a stronger person because of it all. If you would have asked me a few months ago if I could go back and change the heart ache, I no doubt would have said that I would. But now, I've had time to ponder it, spent time writing and really thinking about where I am right now. And I came to the conclusion that I would probably be a completely different person if I hadn't of experienced the things that I did and the pain that I endured leading me up to today.

Heartbreak will never be easy.

My heart has been broken by friends. I have a hard time trusting people now.

My heart breaks every time I see the homeless on the street begging.

My heart has been broken by stupid boys not worth a second of my thoughts.

My heart breaks for families that have lost loved ones.

& a lot more

But mostly, my heart breaks for those who refuse to know God in the way that I do.

I turned to God to mend my broken heart. And let me tell you, it's an amazing feeling not having to carry around that much weight and pain.

"When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit."

-Psalm 34:17-18

Maybe, just maybe, if you have not healed from a broken heart, or you are experiencing it right now, I encourage you to stop and pray. I know that sometimes it can feel like you are praying to a wall, but I can assure you that God is listening and will hold your heart, lift you up and make you new if you ask. God Bless.

bottom of page