top of page

Calm Within The Storm

That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, "Let us go over to the other side." Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, "Teacher, don't you care if we drown?" He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, "Quiet! Be still!" Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, "Why are you so afraid? Do you have no faith?" They were terrified and asked each other, "Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!"

-- Mark 4:35-41

It's true, life is messy, unpredictable, scary, and sometimes even destructive. Kind of like a storm right? In my personal experience, life is seriously terrifying. Growing up is probably something I will never get used to. But I know that with my faith and my hope, life can be just a little easier. Like the disciples in the story, we need not be afraid of life, challenges, love, and community. God holds us up. We have to put our trust in him and know that he will always be there to catch us when we fall, and calm our storm. We need to stop trying to calm the storm. God's peace isn't found in the calm. It's found within the steadfastness during the storm. Life is crazy, overwhelming, and goes by so fast.

I started school today. I'm a sophomore in college and I actually can't believe it. All of the time I wasted wanting to be older has caught up to me and all I want to do is to wish I was young again. Life goes by so fast. Enjoy it. Every minute of it. Put your trust in God. Love everyone. Not just the people you choose to love, because they are God's children too. Open up your hearts, spread God's word, be a disciple. Because I'm telling you right now, life will never get easier. But with God, life is joyful, full of love, and filled with promise.

Have a blessed day! xoxo

bottom of page