top of page

Swallowing Pride

"God resists the proud but gives grace to the humble" -- James 4:6

Pride is destructive. However, I probably couldn't count on my hands how many times I have either been prideful, or have ruined moments in my life because of my own pride.

Recently, I heard from God. I was angry at my friends for not saving me a spot in Chapel and stood there, while everyone else was worshiping, throwing myself a pity party when God whispered "Let go of your pride. You're here to worship me." Wow. Okay. I was just called out by God. How selfish was I? Right in that moment, I dropped all my stuff, raised my hands and worshiped God with everything I had. My heart yearned for more and more after that.

As the sinning humans that we are, we are the most selfish, prideful creatures. But yet, God loves us so much. He forgives us for everything we do and there cannot be a love greater than his. It's okay to be humble in our achievements and what we admire about ourselves, but to be prideful is to be selfish and deceitful. Swallow your pride and remember you are his.

bottom of page